廢物不存在及新商機

TheRockGroup合夥人Bertus Tulleners

Household waste next to electricity plugs

所有香港人均意識到廢物的問題,垃圾堆填區幾乎爆滿。將廢物出口到中國大陸並不總是(在經濟上)可行,部分原因是由於「綠籬行動」(Operation Green Fence),因此我們需要替代品。

政府已制定一系列不同的策略,其中最明顯是建議建設焚化爐。另一種策略涉及建立有機廢物處理廠,此舉將能夠把食物和其它有機廢物轉化成能量(氣體)和堆肥。

基本上,我們的策略包含堆填,焚燒或腐化。雖然這些聽起來都相當原始,但若焚燒和腐化處理洽當,將能產生正面的結果。

分散式廢物發電裝置將為本地的機構,如︰大學、主題公園或體育中心,甚至偏遠社區提供可持續、具成本效益的解決方案。我們正與The Waste Transformers探討如何可將方案推出。減低廢物運送或選址重新處理材料,效益將超越政府目前的目標。

然而,燃燒可用的塑膠、紙張、木材或其他材料並非有效地利用資源。另一方面,回收不總是經濟上可行,因為許多廢料擁有較低的市場價值。不過,並不是每個人都清楚其他可行的選擇。

這主要與對這個的問題認識有關。我們大多著眼於即時、有顯著影響的結果。我們看到大量垃圾需以衛生和有效的方式處理,因此我們專注於廢物管理。雖然這種策略有其需要,卻也很有限。

當我們為一個不斷增長的河流建立堤壩,可以肯定它最終會損壞。相反,我們應該先到上游理解水從何來。通過處理上游的廢物,可以緩和水流,也增加了可供稍後處理的方法。

重新思考廢物處理

什麼是真正的垃圾?垃圾無非是此刻我們沒有看到任何生產功能的材料。通過預先規劃和設計,我們可以確保物資使用後的再用性。

想像一下,一間五星級酒店為客房購買最昂貴的窗簾。三年後,房間經過重新設計,窗簾也必須除去。雖然資源完好無損,酒店卻再沒有使用它們的地方。它不是紡織公司,而且窗簾切割需要以特定的方式縫製,因此亦不能把它們出售予紡織公司。因它們是由五種不同類型的高品質紡織品造成,所以也不能被拆開。最後,窗簾就被棄置到堆填區中。這不單只是一件廢物,而是羞恥。

當純粹著眼於管理產生的廢物,可謂別無他選。但當焦點轉移至預防廢物產生的規劃,選擇範圍則可擴大。該產品的設計可滿足什麼潛在需要?能否以不同方式達至此效果?

在這種情況下,需要的是以美麗的窗簾來建造一個吸引的房間。那可否購買易於再用的材料而製的窗簾?在使用後具有一定的市場價值,並可轉售的材料?可能公司裡沒有任何人想像過可以此獲利,而非造成額外支出的方案。

可幸的是有越來越多的企業和企業家以不同方法處理問題。他們視這為大量免費物料供應,有人甚至因此得到報酬。一般長者辛勤地收集鋁及紙皮象徵香港的非正式回收業,然而,更多社會性、經濟和環境上更先進的措施其實存在。

一個著名的例子是英特飛 (Interface),一間重新思考其業務的地毯公司。Interface發現其銷售地毯的商業模式的效率相當低 - 它銷售大量僅使用幾年的地毯材料,然後在幾乎全新的狀態下丟棄。因此它把產品變成服務,現在Interface租賃地毯,提供維護木地板的服務,而不僅僅銷售地板材料。

保留材料使用權提供了創新的動力。方塊地毯比傳統地捲軸地毯更佳,以可回收的紗線製成,能輕易地從襯背分離,也可在不同客戶間重複使用。在美國和歐洲, Interface甚至從它的客戶回收使用過的地毯,從底層分離紗線和其他纖維,以預備之後回收。該公司也從減少浪費中獲利 - 並非因政府強迫,而是它能看到商業機會。

讓創新更上一層樓

其實有更多其他比起地毯行業更意想不到的成功例子,但企業往往不具備資源和專家去尋找這些可能性。若你有不同的核心業務,將難以撥出時間探索如何能減少浪費。

為此,我們提出了一個不同類型的解決方案。我們與香港理工大學設計學院合作,旨在成立一個組織以協助公司找出他們如何能減少浪費,甚至從中獲利,因而提高業務效率,同時培訓香港未來的人才從解決社會問題中創造商機。

我們與設計、商業、環境科學及其他學系的學生共同合作,研究公司會使用哪些資源,用作什麼用途,以及如何更有效地使用這些資源。這可導致採購、加工或生產線的改變;它甚至可建立新的合作伙伴,將用過的資源作其他用途。在適當情況下,我們會嘗試創建新的公司業務,以把廢物改造成有用的資源。

我們知道這聽起來非常進取。我們已開始為中小企業和跨國公司努力,與香港、曼谷和荷蘭的學生實行類似的項目。

我們現在需要建立一個更持久的力量,以促進香港成為一個排廢低、可循環的經濟體系。為此,我們需要一批有遠見的公司的支持-一些可以看見此計劃對自身和合作伙伴均有裨利益的公司。

我們希望這可以推動香港成為世界可持續發展經濟樞紐出一分力。

如欲了解更多資訊或參與當中,請聯繫我們:bertus.tulleners@therockgroup.biz。

作者觀點並不一定反映香港社會服務聯會、「商界展關懷」計劃或「永續營商」的意見。

Waste doesn’t exist; business opportunities do

Bertus Tulleners, Partner, TheRockGroup

Household waste next to electricity plugs

Everyone in Hong Kong is aware of the waste issue. Landfills are almost full. Export to mainland China is not always (economically) feasible, partly due to the ‘green fence’. So we need alternatives.

The government has been developing a range of different strategies. The most significant is the proposed construction of a huge waste-to-energy plant or, as some call it, ‘the incinerator’. Another strategy involves establishing several organic waste treatment plants which would be able to convert food and other organic waste into energy (gas) and compost.

Basically our strategies consist of burying, burning or rotting. Although these do sound rather primitive, burning and rotting could yield positive results, if done properly.

Decentralised waste-to-energy installations would provide a sustainable, cost-effective solution for organisations in Hong Kong such as the universities, theme parks or sports centres, as well as remote communities. We are working with The Waste Transformers to explore how this could be rolled out. Eliminating the need to transport waste or find new sites for materials reprocessing would allow progress to accelerate beyond current government targets.

Nevertheless, burning perfectly usable plastics, paper, wood or other materials does not seem  a particularly efficient use of resources. On the other hand, recycling is not always economically viable, since many waste materials have a relatively low market value. Yet it is not clear to everyone that alternative options exist.

This is mainly due to our understanding of the problem. Most of us focus on the immediate, most visible impact at the end of the pipeline. We see the enormous piles of waste that we need to deal with in a hygienic and efficient manner. So we focus at waste management. Although necessary, this strategy is far too limited.

When building a dam for an ever-growing stream or river, we can be certain it will eventually break. Instead, we should first go upstream to understand where all the water comes from. By dealing with waste upstream, we can mitigate the flow and increase our options to deal with it later on.

Rethinking Waste

What is waste, really? Waste is nothing more than a material for which, at the moment, we don’t see any productive function. Through advance planning and design, we can ensure further applications are possible long after that material’s first use.

Imagine a five-star hotel chain purchasing the most expensive curtains it can find for its rooms. After three years, the rooms are restyled and the curtains must go. Although the materials are still in perfect condition, the hotel has no use for them; it is not a textile company, and it cannot sell them to a textile company because the curtains are cut and sewn in a particular way. They cannot be taken apart as they consist of five different types of high-quality textile. So instead, they go to the landfill. Not only a waste – a shame.

When the focus is purely on managing the waste generated, there is no alternative. When the focus shifts to planning for waste prevention, the range of options expands. What is the underlying need that the product is designed meet? Could it be met in a different way?

In this case, the need is for a beautiful curtain to create an attractive room. So what about purchasing a curtain that consists of a material that is easy to recycle? Material that has a market value and can be resold after use? That is likely something no-one in the company ever thought of; something that could earn money, instead of creating additional cost.

Fortunately there are more and more examples of companies and entrepreneurs doing things differently. These are people who see that there is a huge supply of free materials; some even get paid to dispose of them. The informal recycling sector in Hong Kong is seen by most as it is embodied by senior citizens working hard to collect aluminium and cardboard. Yet more socially, economically and environmentally advanced practices exist.

A famous example is Interface, a carpet company that completely rethought its business. Interface figured out that its business model of selling carpets was in fact rather inefficient – it sells huge amounts of carpet material, which are used only for a few years and then thrown away in near-perfect condition.  So it turned its product into a service. It now leases carpets, offering the service of well-maintained flooring rather than just selling flooring material.

Retaining ownership of the materials provided an incentive to innovate. Tiles are preferred over rolls, and are made with recyclable yarn that can be easily separated from the backing, to be reused again and again with different clients. In the US and Europe, Interface even takes back used carpets from its customers, separating the yarn and other fibres from the backing to perpare them for recycling. The company is earning money by minimising waste – not because governments forced it to, but because it saw a business opportunity.

Upscaling Innovation

There are many more such examples, in sectors even less likely than carpeting.  Yet companies often don’t have the resources and expertise to find them. If you have a different core business to attend to, you are unlikely to spend time exploring how you can minimise your waste.

For this we propose a different type of solution. In co-operation with the School of Design at Hong Kong Polytechnic University, we are aiming to set up an organisation that will help companies identify how they can minimise their waste, and even earn money from it – thus enhancing business efficiency, while at the same time training Hong Kong’s future talent to create new business opportunities through tackling societal issues.

Together with design, business, environmental science and other students, we will examine which materials comes into the company, what their uses are and how they might be used more efficiently. This could result in changes to purchasing, processing or end-of-pipeline management; it might even mean new partnerships with companies or entrepreneurs able to put their used materials to a different use. Where appropriate, we will try to create new businesses of companies that actually process the waste into useful materials.

We understand this sounds ambitious. We have already worked on similar projects with students in Hong Kong, Bangkok and the Netherlands, for companies including both SMEs and multinationals.

We now want to establish a more permanent effort, to help stimulate the transition to a low-waste, circular economy here in Hong Kong. For this we need the support of a group of forward-looking companies – companies which see the potential benefits for themselves and their business partners.

We hope this can play some small role in helping to steer Hong Kong towards what it can be: a leading hub in a sustainable global economy.

For more information or to get involved, please get in touch: bertus.tulleners@therockgroup.biz.

The views of guest contributors do not necessarily reflect those of HKCSS, the Caring Company Scheme or Sustainable Business HK.